Weekend Camping

Last weekend Adrian was going to go on a motorcycle camping trip with his friend. But I got a text half-way through the day asking if I wanted to go camping. I said, “Sure!” His friend ended up not being able to go, so we went on our very first camping trip of the year (and the first, EVER as a couple)! When I got home from work I grabbed some clothes and tennis shoes and we hopped into the jeep and left town. Adrian had gotten everything ready to go while I was at work!

We drove out to Grantsville Reservoir and found a spot tucked into the mountains. It was a little spot right off the trail with a fire pit, a stream near by, and some flat ground for our tent. By the time we got out there, the sun was setting so we quickly set up our tent. Adrian started a fire and I started roasting some hot dogs on the gas grill. When the sun set, we brought out the marshmallows and made some s’mores! Adrian had his with dark chocolate and mine were made with milk chocolate. I don’t really like graham crackers (unless they are covered in frosting) so I mostly roasted the marshmallows and snacked on the chocolate. We stayed up a little longer, just watching the fire and talking.

Eventually we decided to go to sleep. Adrian even brought the blow-up air mattress for me! I didn’t think I’d be cold because when I laid down I was pretty warm, but throughout the night I got SO cold!!! It was mostly my face that got cold so I hid under the blanket and used my breath to keep me warm! The air mattress started to deflate half-way through the night so we were caving in towards each other. Air mattresses end up being not that comfy after all.. (I checked my fitbit sleeping log the next day and I was extremely restless! Definitely not the best sleep of my life. Adrian checked his and he slept more soundly than he ever does at home!)

In the morning we got up and Adrian made another fire. He struggled with getting it started though because the wind was blowing pretty bad. He finally got it going while I was cooking breakfast (eggs and bacon)!  We roasted a few more marshmallows in the fire, but it was starting to get pretty warm so we let the flames die out and then put it out with some water. We packed up all our gear and headed back to town!

It was a nice little trip away. Now that we’ve gone once this season, it’ll hopefully be easier to make it out more! I am excited to have the summer off of work because we’ll get lots of time for camping trips!

Check out the YouTube video I made!

Leave a comment